Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

Wild Gift: X Live In Connecticut

Written by:

X took the stage at the Fairfield Theatre Company in Connecticut (5/26) to play a scorching, career-spanning set.

The legendary Los Angeles band who formed in 1977 may only have seven albums under their belts, with their last being 1993’s Hey Zeus!, but every entry in their discography is a classic.

Singers Exene Cervenka and John Doe sounded as potent as ever, belting out numbers like “Adult Books” and “I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts” with timeless punk authority.

Billy Zoom and D.J. Bonebrake proved they’re one of the most durable rhythm sections in the business. Hard to pick favorites, but “The New World” and “Because I Do” were fabulous and their cover of The Doors’ “Soul Kitchen” was raw and stirring.

This was one of the first show’s of X’s summer tour–the band will be on the road through September playing dates all across the United States with The Violent Femmes, Squeeze, Skating Polly, The Damned, Dead Rock West, Folk Uke and the Rev Horton Heat.

X Set List:

  1. Beyond and Back
  2. In This House That I Call Home
  3. Because I Do
  4. It’s Who You Know
  5. The Once Over Twice
  6. When Our Love Passed Out on the Couch
  7. I’m Coming Over
  8. Adult Books
  9. Dancing With Tears in My Eyes
  10. Come Back to Me
  11. I Must Not Think Bad Thoughts
  12. The Unheard Music
  13. The New World
  14. Year 1
  15. Sugarlight
  16. Your Phone’s Off The Hook, But You’re Not
  17. Nausea
  18. Johnny Hit And Run Paulene
  19. Motel Room In My Bed
  20. Soul Kitchen
  21. White Girl
  22. The World’s A Mess, It’s In My Kiss