Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

The Specials Set To Release First New Album Featuring Terry Hall In Almost 40 Years

Written by:

The Specials have just put the finishing touches on a new album.

Titled Encore, the album features three of the original Specials: Terry Hall, Lynval Golding and Horace Panter. Ocean Colour Scene’s Steve Cradock an drummer Kenrick Rowe are also in the band’s lineup.

The legendary Coventry outfit haven’t put out a record since 2001’s Conquering Ruler, but Encore is a significant release in that it features original singer Hall, who has been touring with the band since 2007, but hasn’t recorded with the Specials since 1980’s More Specials.

Encore will not feature original members Jerry Dammers, Neville Staple or Roddy Radiation.

The album will feature new songs as well as covers of “Black Skinned Blue-Eyed Boys” by The Equals and a rowdy take on The Valentines’ “Blam Blam Fever.”

An accompanying disc of live material will also be included with the album.

Encore will be out February of 2019 and the band will be touring in support of the record throughout the spring and summer.

Encore Tracklisting:

  1. Black Skinned Blue-Eyed Boys
  2. B.L.M.
  3. Vote For Me
  4. The Lunatics
  5. Breaking Point
  6. Blam Blam Fever
  7. 10 Commandments
  8. Embarrassed By You
  9. The Life And Times (Of A Man Called Depression)
  10. We Sell Hope