Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

The Meat Puppets’ Original Lineup Has Reunited

Written by:

The Meat Puppets original lineup is back together.

The legendary Arizona outfit have brought back drummer Derrick Bostrom to record their first album with their original lineup in almost twenty-five years.

Their last effort together was 1995’s No Joke!

The Meat Puppets originally formed in 1980 after Bostrom and brothers Chris and Curt Kirkwood met at Brophy Prep High School in Phoenix. They signed to SST and were labelmates with Soundgarden, The Minutemen and Hüsker Dü.

Although the band were critical darlings throughout the ’80s, they achieved commercial success after playing with Nirvana on their Unplugged performance.

The band’s new album is a ten-track record called Dusty Notes and it will be out March 8 through the Megaforce label. The album features additional playing by keyboardist Ron Stabinsky and Curt Kirkwood’s guitar-playing son Elmo.

The Meat Puppets’ last album was 2013’s Rat Farm and they were inducted into the Arizona Music & Entertainment Hall Of Fame in 2017.

Dusty Notes Track Listing:

1. Warranty
2. Nine Pins
3. On
4. Unfrozen Memory
5. Dusty Notes
6. The Great Awakening
7. Sea of Heartbreak
8. Nightcap
9. Vampyr’s Winged Fantasy
10. Outflow