Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

Stereo Embers’ TRACK OF THE DAY: Darto’s “Brotherhood”

Written by:

In September Aagoo Records released the new 4-track Fundamental Slime EP by Seattle’s’ indie-explorers Darto.

And as usual everything about Darto is edgy and interesting.

Formed in 2010 in Seattle, Darto is comprised of Gordon De Los Santos, Gregory Flores, Candace Harter and Nicholas Merz, who self-recorded their new record on Whidbey Island at the Flores Roost. The EP was mixed by Steve Fisk (Screaming Trees, Nirvana, Soundgarden, Low, The Wedding Present) and mastered by April Golden (Soundgarden, Car Seat Headrest, Goat, Rob Zombie).

An inspired blend of alternative rock and psychedelia, this time around the band worked with saxophonist Neil Welch of the groundbreaking Seattle jazz duo Bad Luck. Welch’s contributions gives each song an airy, and appealingly distant blow. “Brotherhood” is the leading track and it’s a glorious example of Darto’s trademark style and within just three minutes you get a perfect taste of their inventive indie rock.

Keep Up With Darto