Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

Grandaddy’s Sumday: Excess Baggage LP Out In August

Written by:

Grandaddy have announced the release of Sumday: Excess Baggage, a collection of b-sides and rarities.

Set for a digital release August 25th via Dangerbird, the 13-track album will herald the Modesto outfit’s upcoming 20th Anniversary 4-LP Boxed Set Sumday Twunny, which will be out in September.

The first single from the album is “The Town Where I’m Livin’ Now.”

“After many years of hammering away at writing and recording as Grandaddy, Sumday seems to be the center of it and where it all peaked,” singer Jason Lytle writes in the press release for the project. “To the journalists we were, ‘On the verge of greatness, underrated, overlooked, unsung.’ It was a tumultuous and exciting time for us for sure. Also very exhausting. Revisiting this material and reflecting on those times has been a double edged sword. Bittersweet is an apt word, I suppose. Twenty years after the fact, I’m just grateful to be alive and kicking… celebrating that moment in time by re-releasing the original album, B sides and extras of that era, and even some raw cassette demos of the album itself a sort of sketchbook/rough draft of the LP in cassette form. So be it then. ‘On the verge of greatness, underrated, overlooked, unsung.’ This is what all of that sounds like.  I’ll take it.”

Sumday: Excess Baggage Tracklisting:

  1. My Little Skateboarding Problem
  2. Derek Spears
  3. Gettin’ Jipped
  4. The Town where I’m Livin Now
  5. Dearest Descrambler
  6. Build a Box
  7. Trouble with a Capital T (muzak version)
  8. Sure it Worked
  9. Running Cable at Shiva’s
  10. Emit Anymore
  11. I no how you feel
  12. The Rugged and Splintered Entertainment Center (a gospel hymn)

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram 

Bandcamp | Spotify | Apple Music