Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

Cheap Trick Live In New York

Written by:

Cheap Trick tore it up at the Capitol Theatre the other night (Nov. 18).

Touring behind two new records–We’re All Alright and Christmas Christmas–the band were in fine form.

Comprised of Robin Zander, Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson and Nielsen’s son Daxx on drums, the band’s set was a perfect blend of past and present. Their discography goes back all the way to 1977 and they’ve got a lot to pull from.

“Hello There” was a big, crunch salvo; “On Top Of The World” was spry and catchy and “Tonight It’s You” was the perfect blend of ache and longing.

They also played a cover of The Move’s “California Man,” Velvet Underground’s “I’m Waiting For The Man” and a thunderous reading of AC/DC’s “Highway To Hell” was the perfect tribute to AC/DC’s fallen guitarist Malcolm Young.

Jesse Malin opened the show and in attendance was Cheap Trick superfan named Junko, who was seeing Cheap Trick for the 209th time.

She was also at the band’s legendary Budokan gig.

Set List:

  1. Hello There
  2. You Got It Going On
  3. Big Eyes
  4. Lookout
  5. California Man
  6. Tonight It’s You
  7. The Ballad of T.V. Violence (I’m Not the Only Boy)
  8. On Top of the World
  9. Borderline
  10. Southern Girls
  11. Daddy Should Have Stayed in High School
  12. No Direction Home
  13. I’m Waiting For The Man
  14. When I Wake Up Tomorrow
  15. I Want You To Want Me
  16. Dream Police
  17. Highway To Hell
  18. Long Time Coming
  19. Surrender
  20. Good Night Now