Instagram Soundcloud Spotify

Iggy Pop To Release New Album In September

Written by:

Iggy Pop is set to release a new album this Fall.

Titled Free, the album is the follow-up to Pop’s 2016 effort Post Pop Depression and it’s said to be a dark listen that chronicles Pop grappling with everything from getting older to burning out of touring.

In a press release issued through Pop’s label the singer said of the album: “By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long. But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need—not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free. So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen.”

Due out September 6 via Loma Vista/Caroline International, the first single from Free will be the title track.

Additionally, Pop’s book of lyrics ‘Til Wrong Feels Right will be published by Penguin Random House in October.

Free Track Listing:

1. Free
2. Loves Missing
3. Sonali
4. James Bond
5. Dirty Sanchez
6. Glow In The Dark
7. Page
8. We Are The People
9. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night
10. The Dawn